A question of HOPE Authority.

View previous topic View next topic Go down

A question of HOPE Authority.

Post by Starsgazer on Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:07 pm

Hi All! i'm a newbie here and want to solicit your opinion on the subject. Does the HOPE have the power to transfer a procuring function of a Supply Officer in active duty, to a teacher designated as Physical Facilities Coordinator to handle procurement of materials and dispose the same without passing it thru the procuring unit? We belong to a OU of DepED. Let me hear your expert advice and please site provisions of law that are violated. Thanks in advance Very Happy

Starsgazer

Male Number of posts : 7
Company/Agency : DepED Isabela
Occupation/Designation : Supply Officer I
Registration date : 2012-02-23

Back to top Go down

Re: A question of HOPE Authority.

Post by Recks1925 on Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:59 pm

Starsgazer wrote:Does the HOPE have the power to transfer a procuring function of a Supply Officer in active duty, to a teacher designated as Physical Facilities Coordinator to handle procurement of materials and dispose the same without passing it thru the procuring unit?

Hello and welcome.

As Head of Agency, i think He/She has the power to to assign an alternative personnel to handle a specific function such as procurement to whatever valid reason it may be. That power of the Head of Agency is governed by your internal policy.

The HOPE, also, as a matter of fact is the one who appoints BAC members. That is in RA9184.

But of course, the provisions of RA9184 should be followed by the designated personnel. Such as:
1. The procurement mode (presumed to be an alternative) should be duly recommended by the bAC and duly approved by the HOPE.
2. The requirement is included in the APP.
3. Process of alternative mode of procurement as per RA9184 is strictly observed.