Splitting of Contracts

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Splitting of Contracts

Post by vivi_11 on Wed Aug 05, 2015 11:45 am

I am a researcher and a client requested for an opinion on the matter. For purposes of confidentiality, I hope you don't mind if I redact the names.

Facts are as follows:

The client conducted a bidding but the same was declared as a failure. Reason: No prospective bidder responded to the advertisements

There are two kinds of units being bidded out, say, units A and B.

In all the documents, they stated the Aggregate ABC for both items, say, 10,000,000.00
As far as I can see, they only stated the breakdown of the ABC on the Bid Form: Item A - 5,000,000.00 || Item B - 5,000,000.00
I still can't get a hold of the details on the ITB posted on PhilGeps. All I know is that there was only one ITB.
LET US ASSUME THAT THE ITB stated the breakdown of the ABC.

They conducted a negotiated procurement requesting for quotations from various companies. Again, the request for quotations stated an ABC of 10,000,000.00.

Company A bidded for Item A for 5,000,000.00.
Company B bidded for Item B for 6,000,000.00.

Company A was awarded the contract for Item A, while company B was disqualified.

From the viewpoint of the researcher, I can only speculate whether the prospective bidders were informed that they were dealing with two contracts and the ABC PER ITEM. Same goes for Company A and B during negotiated procurement.

Is this considered splitting of contracts?

vivi_11

Female Number of posts : 1
Company/Agency : private law firm
Occupation/Designation : researcher
Registration date : 2015-08-05

Back to top Go down

Re: Splitting of Contracts

Post by pluma on Mon Aug 10, 2015 4:48 pm